New photos – NYC last hurrah and a stopover in Dubai

I’ve been meaning to upload some recent photos to Flickr, and finally got around to it this afternoon.

The first set is from a trip I took with Stephanie and Kevo out to Governors Island prior to my departure.  It was an awesome day…we rented bikes, including a tandem for me and Steph.  (Side note: it’s harder to ride one of those things than it looks!)  There was badminton, an amazing free Red Stripe unlimited beer garden (!) and most importantly, amazing views of Lower Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty.  The weather was great, we brought a disc and had a picnic and it was definitely a great way to say “see ya later; I’ll miss you!” to NYC.

We met up later with Jess for some awesome Nepalese food, then board games.  Good times.

The second set uploaded today is a small one, just a few photos from my venture outside the Dubai Airport 2 weeks ago.  Arriving in Dubai in the morning, I faced the prospect of a 7-hour layover before my connection to Hyderabad.  Fortunately, most passport holders can get a free visa to exit the airport, so I took the opportunity to head out and explore.

I’m not sure why, but I found Dubai to be lackluster.  The new metro system is quite nice, and the buildings are a sight to behold.  But at the end of the day, I found it inhospitably hot and dusty, and bereft of much culture beyond “check out our cool buildings and buy stuff in our mega malls,” which doesn’t count for culture in my book.  On the other hand, the people were friendly enough; it was easy to get around.  Perhaps timing played a role in my impression – I was exploring on a Saturday morning during Ramadan, and most places were closed.  Still, I took a few photos and wanted to share them here.

Enjoy both sets!

PS – I installed a Flickr widget on the sidebar of the blog – the latest snaps will appear there.

About Rob

Twitter @robertkatz
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

