Indian McDonalds – I’m Lovin It

Just when you thought my blog was limited to my overwrought musings around development, microfinance, statistics and socio-politics…

…I’ll try to save myself with a post on Indian McDonald’s. To be concise: I’m lovin it.

First off, I love Indian food. No, really – I LOVE Indian food – just about anything I eat here, I like. Veg, non-veg, northern, southern, coastal, breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks. Well, especially snacks. Come on: Pani puri? Pav bhaji? Samosa? Kati roll? Cannot be beat.

Except sometimes, even the most dedicated Indian food lover needs a little Mickey D’s. And the best part is, the local Mickey D’s has been wonderfully adapted to Indian tastes. And the result…is…in: Delicious.

Vegetarian? Good luck at McDonald’s in the US. 2 all beef patties special sauce lettuce cheese on a sesame seed bun – ah, the Big Mac. Maybe there’s a wilty salad waiting for you at the bottom of the freezer case. But vegetarian in India? You’re money. They’ve got McVeggie burgers, Veg Pizza McPuffs, Veg Surprise sandwiches. Early riser? They’ve got a Veg McMuffin for goodness’ sake! And let me not forget the amazing, delightful McSpicy Paneer.

Anyway, the McSpicy Paneer is…pretty awesome. According to the box, “McSpicy Paneer is here to spice up your taste quotient.” Well after some careful long division, the results are in: taste quotient spiced UP!

Just look at how much these people love it:

You also have a Chicken Maharaja Mac, for those looking to indulge in the non-veg, in place of the Big Mac (no beef at McDonald’s, as you might imagine).

Upshot: even the most dedicated lover of Indian food falls victim to the siren call of McDonald’s every once in a while. And it is a delicious siren call indeed.

About Rob

Twitter @robertkatz
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indian McDonalds – I’m Lovin It

  1. Dad says:

    When I was in India the first time, my agent was worried I’d get sick if we had lunch and then dinner along the road between Delhi and Agra. There was a McDonalds about half way between the two cities, so we had both lunch and dinner there. Once you schmeer mayonnaise on a veg patty you can’t tell that it’s veg of beef!

  2. Dan says:

    Amazing commercial.

Leave a Reply

